Prof. Kim Yun-jae, Kang Young-jong, Lee Jee-won, and Kim Dong-hwan elected members of the National Academy of Engineering of Korea in 2021
Prof. Zi Goang-seup elected a new associate



▲ 왼쪽부터 김윤재·강영종·이지원·김동환 교수

▲ Prof. Kim Yun-jae, Kang Young-jong, Lee Jee-won, and Kim Dong-hwan


The National Academy of Engineering of Korea (Chairman: Kwon Oh-kyung), the nation’s highest authority in the field of engineering and technology, has released its final list of new members (50 members and 89 associates) for 2021 after a rigorous 10-month multi-stage examination.
* Electrical, Electronic and Information (7 members), Mechanical (11 members), Civil and Environmental (9 members), Chemical (9 members), Material and Energy (9 members), and Technology Management (5 members)

The new members of the National Academy of Engineering of Korea were elected in recognition of their distinguished research achievements and technological innovations at a university, research institute or company, thus substantially contributing to national development.

Korea University produced several new members of the Academy, including Professor Kim Yun-jae from the Department of Mechanical Engineering, Professor Kang Young-jong from the Department of Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineering, Professor Lee Jee-won from the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering, and Professor Kim Dong-hwan of the Department of Materials Science and Engineering.

Professor Kim Yun-jae has conducted research on structural safety evaluation for the safe and efficient management of national key industrial facilities based on theories concerning fatigue crack growth mechanisms. In his membership assessment, he was recognized for his contributions to the globalization of domestic technologies through the development of new virtual technologies and international cooperation.

Professor Kang Young-jong has developed a new nonlinear theory to correct errors in Vlasov’s curved beam theorical model and has worked on the development of facility diagnosis technology by applying Fourth Industrial Revolution technology, such as displacement data-based identification and BIM. Utilizing the developed technology, he has helped public institutions achieve a record high improvement in management evaluation. He was elected as a member of the Academy in recognition of achieving distinguished achievements in the field of structural engineering studies (67 SCI-level articles, 135 renowned domestic journal articles).

Prof. Lee Jee-won has led technological innovation and industrial technology transfer in the field of industrial biocatalyst and cancer diagnosis and treatment while conducting research projects outsourced or supported by large companies (including the Samsung Future Technology Promotion Center), thereby promoting the commercialization of technology. During his membership assessment, he was recognized for his achievements in research projects on the development of next-generation basic technologies, including a project commissioned by the National Research Laboratory (NRL).

Professor Kim Dong-hwan has developed original technology in the solar field, played a central role in nurturing researchers and the domestic solar industry, and greatly contributed to the improvement of solar cell efficiency and mass production technology. He received the PVSEC Award in recognition of his global leadership in 2018.


▲ 지광습 교수

▲ Prof. Zi Goang-seup


In addition, the National Academy of Engineering of Korea elected 89 associates in recognition of their outstanding achievements, including Professor Zi Goang-seup from the School of Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineering of Korea University.
The Academy usually begins its evaluation for the election of new members with a candidate search and recommendations in the first half of each year and then conducts a thorough four-stage assessment of their achievements in the second half of the year. This multi-stage screening includes not only evaluations of academic achievements, but also reviews achievements in various fields, including the novel technological developments, patents, talent development, and industrial contributions. During the process, a written vote of all members is conducted.